The why of ZenPop

I’ve been feeling overwhelmed a lot lately. This is a pretty common condition for me as an extreme introvert with clinical depression, and it used to lead to self-doubt, which would inevitably lead to self-loathing, which of course led directly to the Pit of Despair.

Eventually, with the right meds, learning to accept and love myself the way I am, and a lot of Zen practice, I arrived at a point where 99% of the time I can derail my conditioned mind before it sends me into a downward spiral, and even stop it at the “self-doubt” point.

But before I found Zen and the right meds and before I had lived long enough to learn to love myself, there was Star Trek.

TOS went off the air four years after I was born, but it went immediately into syndication, so I grew up watching reruns whenever they were on. In 1972 I even made my dad take me to an auto show – neither of us were auto show people – just so I could meet Captain Kirk. (When he signed his name “Bill Shatner” I was devastated and threw the autograph away. I’m strangely proud of 7-year-old me for standing up to reality like that, even though it didn’t seem to notice.)

When Next Generation premiered I was ecstatic and never missed an episode. Deep Space Nine left me conflicted and when it was on the air I confess I became bored with the political machinations and quit watching. Voyager was problematic because at the time I was one of those women who hated women – don’t worry, I’ve come to my senses – and Janeway annoyed me. And I found Enterprise, sadly, dull as proverbial dishwater.

A couple of decades later, when I was going through an extended period of misery including divorce, depression, anxiety, panic attacks, and a sense of isolation that was a tiny whisker away from suicidal, I decided to revisit the entire canon, starting from the beginning.

What I found was acceptance, respect for “otherness,” celebration of diversity, and a positive vision of humanity’s future. I found an entire universe of beings with different beliefs and abilities, generally willing to see things from the other guy’s POV and put their shoulders to the wheel together.

I found hope.

This blog is my attempt to share that hope with other people.

My original thought was that this blog would focus specifically on the Zen of Trek, but I realized that was too limiting, especially since (for reasons I can understand, if not agree with), there are actually people in the world who don’t love Star Trek (I know, right?). My goal is to promote understanding, empathy, and compassion – for ourselves as well as others.

We’re all in this together, and our differences can make us stronger if we let them, but the change begins with us.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

1 Comment

  1. Parallel journeys? The depression, self doubt, self loathing, deep night of the soul, and recovery from PTSD… yes, I relate. Having recovered greatly, I share your passion in seeking to offer a light to the paths of sojourners.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

